A Blooming Spot

I shouldn’t really tell you about the little gem of a cafe that opened around the corner as it is only small and I want to be able to get a seat when I so desire (which is often) but, I also shouldn’t be selfish, so let me introduce you to Little Sunflower.

  
The owners, Grant and Angie, have transformed what was previously a dark, univiting cafe into a fresh, light, comfortable and welcoming space. Grant is front of house, while Angie works away in the kitchen (keeping an eye on things through the hatch).

  
The coffee is good – organic Allpress – and the food packs the double whammy of being full of goodness and seriously delicious. Breakfast is offered all day (well, until the kitchen closes at 3). On my last visit I had Granola 1, the memory of which is still with me.

  
But, today I was there for lunch. After perusing the lunch offerings I finally decided on the Green Tea Noodles Buddha Bowl, but then Grant came to our table to tempt us with some Daily Specials. 

  
In the end I was wooed by the thought of a mixed bowl of cauliflower in Ras el hanout, beetroot, kale, black beans, mint quinoa tabbouleh and fresh pomegranate seeds, topped with a dollop of yoghurt. Satisfying, nourishing and very yummy.

  
And the great thing about all that goodness is that you don’t feel too guilty about indulging in a little sweet treat to go with your coffee. We shared two little homemade (gluten free) cheesecakes – one mango & coconut, the other rose water & pistachio. They were so delicious that I scoffed it down before remembering to take a photo. You will just have to take my word for it.

So, get yourself down to Little Sunflower, 15 Ormond Road, Elwood (closed Monday) if you want to treat your body and your tastebuds.

Leave a Reply

